What's new

Kava and PTSD, anxiety, ADHD, depression

kl.Elizabeth

Kava Curious
I'm studying to be an herbalist and am fairly anti-pharmaceuticals.  I do believe there is a place for pharmaceuticals, but not if herbs work.  I've read quite a bit about kava and in placebo controlled, double blind studies, it's been found to be equally effective as prescription anti-anxiety meds. 
For myself, I've noticed that kava is the best anti-anxiety substance that I have ever tried.  For me, it works better than benzodiazepines.  I'm wondering what other people's experiences are.   And, has anyone tried it for depression or ADHD?  Kava is a mild anti-depressant, but I wonder how it compares to prescription drugs.  I can read all my textbooks, but the true test is always how it works on people in real life.
And, lastly, has anyone here given it to children?  I know some people are going to be horrified that I even asked that question, but I mean instead of ADHD drugs.  For children, I think kava is much, much safer than the ADHD drugs.  And, I'm not suggesting to give children enough to get krunked, just a small amount.

Vekta

Notorious Lightweight
Review Maestro
I wouldn't try to pass kava off as a better medication for depression. I think one of those studies was done at Duke University but I still wouldn't push it in that direction on purpose. I use it for social anxiety and I don't think that's at all the same as depression. Depression is a whole different animal. There are varying degrees of depression and it may or may not be due to a chemical imbalance. I think those of us that have tried many different varieties of kava know that they can effect us quite differently. Prescription drugs are scary but in certain situations might be more accurate in what neurotransmitters they effect.