What's new

Stimulant exaggeration

drbinxy

Kava Curious
I have noticed that when I drink kava after taking any sort of stimulant it makes the stimulant way more powerful and the kava doesn't really feel sedating anymore.
My personal experience is with caffeine and pseudoephedrine (i.e. sudafed, allegra-d) since I don't take any other stimulants.
Has anyone else noticed this effect? I think it may be a contributing factor if not the cause of kava keeping some people awake at night.

Edward

Aluballin' in the UK
Kava Vendor
Some kavas keep me awake a little at night and I don't take any stimulants.

FuzzyHotSounds

Kava Curious
I haven't tried any stimulants with kava. I'm new to this awesome plant... but maybe you should try to decrease the dosage? I notice energy from the kava alone, even the "night-time" ones that others have alluded to. This might have something to do with its dopamine (antagonist?) properties, I'm not sure. Be careful. Might wanna research that more, or wait for someone else to chime in.

edit:
I just don't want you to have a bad experience. I know almost nothing about kava. But, I do know that mixing things (drugs, even natrual plants), can cause unwanted interactions, especially if overdoing it. OK ill shutup now, and I'll chug some more kava! :D

Last edited:

verticity

I'm interested in things
I find that kava can increase the effect of caffeine (in my case in the form of coffee--I have not tried yerba mate), in a kind of unpleasant way. It has gotten to the point that I very rarely drink coffee anymore, whereas before kava I used to drink tons of coffee. Likewise a little caffeine can decrease the effects of kava.

EQ

Atman
@verticity
It is ignorant to assume the caffeine in mate reacts the same. I mean that respectfully. I would expect anybody to say what you did.

You should check the thread.
Lots of us have found mate and kava to synergize to produce a high.